In the web client you will find the option under "Configuration" data Storage
The "data retention function" (archiving function) is a central feature of the
- Rule-based, automatic archiving of data based on specific properties
- Adhoc archiving of data by the data owner or the administrator.
The archiving function is fundamentally different from stub-file-based methods because it seeks to truly separate data that is no longer needed.
The basic configuration described here provides basic settings for the functionality. The assignment of Policy or AdHoc jobs takes place directly at the directory level in the tree of the respective project in the Web client.
Configuration of the central settings
In the delivery state, data retention is deactivated. It can be activated and deactivated at any time via the topmost switch.
Note: Activating the Data Retention means that no new tasks can be created in the affected areas of the directory tree.
Basic setting for the destination directory for the Date Retention
migRaven supports two methods for storing the data. This allows us to respond to the different needs of the specialist departments and the interests of the IT department.
Notice: migRaven provide a very flexible way to set up and execute data retention jobs. The central point for the assignment is the prior creation of at least one data owner in migRaven for a specific directory area. -> without a data owner no archiving!
The assignment of a Data Owner changes the status of the directory in the database. In the same breath, a hidden system file named ".mig.Raven" will be generated, containing information for migRaven contains and therefore should not be deleted. At the same time, it is protected by special security settings.
Define target directory
- "Within the project root" - the data remains physically on the same drive.
This method is used whenever it is exclusively about the optimization of the directory tree for the end user or if the hardware used does not support the automatic generation of symlinks. This can be the case, for example, in a migration case or in a restructuring project. An optimization of the memory space does not take place in the method.
- "External" - the data is moved to a UNC path
This method allows the complete separation of active / passive data on different drives. Prerequisite for the application is the automatic generation of symlinks by migRaven.
In this case, selected files that exceed a predefined age limit will
moved from the production system to the defined target directory. All other data will remain
in their original directories / on the original drive.
Within the project root (Data Owner root directory)
Here, the name of the archive directory to be created can be entered. The folder is created within the directory to which a data owner has been assigned and according to the entry set here directory name named accordingly.
Conversion: \\ Server \ Share \ V1 \ <V with DO assigned> \ <archive directory name> \ <moved data>
Unter dem UNC path an external storage location can be specified in the format "\\ server \ share" for the archive directory.
The moment a data retention job is assigned to a directory, a symlink with the name specified above will be created in the folder assigned to the Data Owner. The corresponding folder is created, named and authorized in the target directory.
Due to the danger of redundancy of directory names, complete structures of the source are mapped in the target:
\\ target_server \ archive_directory \ <source server> \ <source_directory> \ V1 \ <V with DO assignment> \ <archived_directory>
Important: Preparation of the target directory for the recording of the archived data.
It is recommended that users are prevented from changing the data in the archive area. Read rights are fine, but if data is to be customized, they should be moved to the active area. migRaven reflects the NTFS permissions in the destination path (unless the simplified variant was chosen). They are 1: 1 exists. To establish write protection, only READ RIGHTS may be set up on the target directory for the user group. The directory permissions are above the NTFS permissions.
In Windows, for security reasons, it is not activated by default that a click on an external, symbolic link is followed. At this point, an error message is output. It is advisable to make the setting centrally via a group policy. The corresponding instructions can be found at the end of this article.
Mode for handling permissions
Exact copy of permissions
If you select the exact copy of the permissions at this point, the permissions / ACEs of all moved folders 1: 1 are set identically in the archive directory.
If the unification of permissions is selected here, all source permissions on subdirectories are adapted to the destination folder. This can be useful if only selected users should have access to the archive area. For example, only the data owner of the area, because any recovery actions should run controlled over him.
E-mail notification for the data owner
At this point, you can select whether the data owner should be notified of the archiving process by e-mail.
This option can either disabled, be activated with a summary or in the form of a full excel file.
The e-mail setting in the migration client needs to do this be configured to use the automatic e-mail notification.
Defining the time window for executing the jobs
Here you define time slots where data retention tasks of migRaven.24 / 7 should be executed. Check for ADHOC tasks migRaven at the latest all 15 minutes if tasks are open. Tasks added via Data Retention feature are scanned and run 1 times per hour.
Activate the logging of the archiving process here. This is stored in its own directory specified via the UNC path. Define the UNC path here.
Exclude directories and file formats:
In the settings can be specific file formats (endings) and entire directories
exclude from archiving.
Enter the appropriate parameters in the box provided and save the changes.
This allows the user to selectively exclude file formats or folders for maximum control over the file
Content of project archiving.
It should be noted in general:
-The data retention generally writes with the user account of the registered Resource Scan Service. So it's important to have access to the external target path for this account.
- Only one data owner is set to one main directory at a time. If the same Data Owner is authorized on several, different directories, this can trigger an Error 500 error when calling the WebClient.
Create data retention jobs
Activation happens in the directory tree of migRaven Web client. This option will not be visible until after
at least one data owner has been set to an overlying directory.
By default, the data owner is the only role which data retention operations can start. In order to make this right accessible to other users, this must be enabled in the Windows client.
A description can be found under Set Data Owner.
Data Retention Policies
ADHoc data retention jobs
In the directory tree, the data owner (with activated data retention) finds the option for the regular, as well as for the AdHoc-Datenaufbewahrung.
If one of these options is selected, the corresponding mask for starting opens.
Here you can specify the appropriate age category for the files to be archived.
The execution times are displayed here, but they can not be changed anymore because they have been set in the settings by the administrator.
If desired, certain folders within the directory can be excluded.
(For example, old data may still be relevant and must be available)
Enter this in the appropriate field. Add a comment and save. The process will be carried out as soon as possible.
AdHoc archiving performs the operation immediately, not after a specified time. Also select the appropriate age category (or all files), enter a comment and starten The process. If the entire directory is emptied, you can use Delete empty entry directory remove the remaining, empty directory.
Activate symbolic links
If the remote to remote setting is disabled, users may get error messages
and access denials come. Check if the option is switched on and use
in this case a group policy to include all users.
The default setting for the symbolic links looks like this:
You can get the status by calling the Command Console and the command
fsutil behavior query SymlinkEvaluation
If the source path is on the local machine this is sufficient. For the other, remote-> remote variant, the symbolic links for remote-> remote must be activated.
This can be done with the command line fsutil behavior set SymlinkEvaluation R2R: 1 be executed
(Further information on this topic Symbolic links)