Step 7: Data retention configuration

In the web client you will find the option under "Configuration" data Storage

This function provides the administrator or authorized data owner with an archiving function for the created projects and their content.
The selected folder including all files and subfolders will be transferred to the specified path. At the same time, a symbolic link is created in the original folder which directly points to the new UNC path.

Important:
The use of symbolic links is not active by default and must be activated (external UNC path)
The corresponding instructions can be found at the end of this article

Configuration of the template

The Management of the data retention policy lets you create and edit your own template for data archiving.

The selected template can be activated or deactivated accordingly.

Within the project root

Here you can enter the corresponding name for the archive directory to be created. The folder is created at the project root level and according to the entry in directory name named accordingly.

External

Unter dem UNC path An external location for the archive directory can be specified.

The Name of the symbolic link then replace the moved folder in the original location with a newly set and named shortcut.

Details about symbolic links can be found at the bottom of this page.

Mode for handling permissions

Exact copy of permissions

If the exact copy of the permissions is selected here, the permissions / ACEs of all moved folders 1: 1 are set identically in the archive directory.

Unify permissions

If at this point the unification of permissions is selected,
All individual permissions are grouped and authorized in a single permission group.

E-mail notification for the data owner

At this point, you can select whether the data owner wants to be notified about the archiving process by e-mail.

This can either disabled, be activated with a summary or in the form of a complete and detailed .csv file.

The e-mail setting in the migration client needs to do this be configured to use the automatic e-mail notification.

Here you define time slots where data retention tasks of migRaven.24 / 7 should be executed. Check for ADHOC tasks migRaven all 15 minutes if tasks are pending. Tasks added via the Retention Policy are scanned and run 1x per hour.

logging

Activate the logging of the archiving process here. This is stored either in the specified ArchivLog directory or in a separate directory specified via the UNC path.
In addition, you can determine how long these log files should be saved.

Exclude directories and file formats:

In the settings can be specific file formats (endings) and entire directories
exclude from archiving.

Enter the appropriate parameters in the box provided and save the changes.

It should be noted:

 

The data retention policy generally writes with the account of the registered Resource Scan Service. So it's important to have access to the external target path for this account.

- Only one data owner is set to one main directory at a time. If the same Data Owner is authorized on several, different directories, this can trigger an Error 500 error when calling the WebClient.

Start the archiving operations

In the tree, the data owner finds the option for the template if the template is activated regular, as well as for the AdHoc-Datenaufbewahrung.

If one of these options is selected, the corresponding mask for starting opens.

Planned

Here you can specify the appropriate age category for the files to be archived or completely select all content.

The execution times are only visible here, but can not be changed anymore, since these have been defined in the settings by the administrator.

If desired, specific paths within the directory can be excluded. Enter these in the appropriate field. Add a comment and save. The process will be carried out as soon as possible.

AdHoc

AdHoc archiving performs the operation immediately, not after a specified time. Also select the appropriate age category here, enter a comment and starten The process. If the entire directory is emptied, you can use Delete empty entry directory remove the remaining, empty directory.

Activate symbolic links

The default setting for the symbolic links looks like this:

You can get the status by calling the Command Console and the command
fsutil behavior query SymlinkEvaluation
To run.

If the source path is on the local machine this is sufficient. For the other, remote-> remote variant, the symbolic links for remote-> remote must be activated.

This can be done with the command line fsutil behavior set SymlinkEvaluation R2R: 1 be executed

(Further information on this topic Symbolic links)

Download User Guide: Data Retention

<- Back to step 6: Create project Go to step 8: Configuration Folder Self Service ->

Permanent link to this post: https://help.migraven.com/datenaufbewahrung/