thumbs.db - prevents deletion in migRaven DataRetention job

The thumbs.db is a system file that usually cannot be deleted because it is usually assigned a file handle.

migRaven.24 / 7 DataRetention deletes all directories if they are empty. But if this file cannot be deleted, then migRaven also do not delete the directory.

The two ways to delete the Thumbs.db

  1. Restart the file server. After that, the file can usually be deleted if a client has not blocked the file again in the meantime.
  2. A GPO can be used to convince Windows not to use these files anymore. The following settings must be made for this:

The file has been obsolete since Windows Vista.

Permanent link to this post: https://help.migraven.com/thumbs-db-loeschen-von-verzeichnissen-waehrend-der-archivierung-ueber-migraven-24-7-sicherstellen/

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.