Category: Best practices

Simply clean up Active Directory

Usage scenarios: Tidying up historically grown AD environments inexpensive alternative to complex domain migrations Outsourcing of parts of the company Merging of AD structures Handover of administration in the outsourcing project Clean up your Active Directory effectively with us. Experience has shown that Active Directory structures are difficult to understand and manage with Microsoft's own resources. There is a high level of dynamism in large companies: new ...

Read more

Permanent link to this post: https://help.migraven.com/active-directory-einfach-aufraeumen/

Myth AGDLP in Windows ACL authorization management

The administration of authorizations (ACL / ACE) in the Windows file server world is complex. The main reason why it is so complicated is that there is no common database. The file server and the accounts to be authorized come from the same world, but there is no central directory in Windows (as under Novell) that contains the information from ACEs and ...

Read more

Permanent link to this post: https://help.migraven.com/mythos-agdlp-in-der-windows-acl-berechtigungsverwaltung/

Why: Optimize directory structures on file servers

How can you prepare grown directory structures on file servers with little effort for the user?

Read more

Permanent link to this post: https://help.migraven.com/optimale-verzeichnisstrukturen-auf-dem-fileserver/

Best practice for authorization on file servers

How should you manage permissions on Microsoft file systems? A question that comes up again and again. Actually simple but highly controversial. We clarify.

Read more

Permanent link to this post: https://help.migraven.com/best-practice-fuer-die-berechtigungsvergabe-auf-fileservern/

Long path names on Windows 10 / Windows Server

With Windows 10, since the Anniversary Update (Version 1607), there is a theoretical possibility to lift the limit for the standard 260 character limit. In the registry there is a DWORD (32-bit) with the name LongPathsEnabled under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ SYSTEM \ CurrentControlSet \ Control \ FileSystem. Under a standard installation, this is stored with the value 0. Change this to 1 to activate the option.

Read more

Permanent link to this post: https://help.migraven.com/ueberlange-pfadnamen-unter-windows-10-windows-server-2016/

Build up NTFS list permissions optimally

1. Necessity for list permissions As a rule, access rights on NTFS file servers are not assigned lower than the first directory level. As soon as this is the case, however, you have to ensure that the user can also browse through the file system to the corresponding directory. There are different options with different effects. 1. Variants of the allocation of list rights

Read more

Permanent link to this post: https://help.migraven.com/listberechtigungen-windows-fileserver-einrichten-abe/

Modify Plus - the clever variant of the Modify rights in NTFS

or: How do you prevent the deletion of directories with explicit permissions? The NTFS right "Modify Plus" ensures stability in the directory tree. The ModifyPlus right prevents the user from accidentally moving, renaming or deleting the authorization endpoint. The new ModifyPlus is an alternative to the NTFS standard Modify right. The NTFS standard right "Modify" contains under the extended rights the ...

Read more

Permanent link to this post: https://help.migraven.com/modifyplus/

The green meadow

1. Necessity of the "green field" If the authorizations of a share are to be migrated on a server, there are two possibilities. Either you migrate within the share or you create a target share parallel to the source share, which you build up and to which you finally give the name of the source share. The first variant is with migRaven although possible ...

Read more

Permanent link to this post: https://help.migraven.com/die-grne-wiese/

thumbs.db - prevents deletion in migRaven DataRetention job

The thumbs.db is a system file that usually cannot be deleted because it is usually assigned a file handle. migRaven.24 / 7 DataRetention deletes all directories if they are empty. But if this file cannot be deleted, then migRaven also do not delete the directory. The two ways to delete the Thumbs.db Start the ...

Read more

Permanent link to this post: https://help.migraven.com/thumbs-db-loeschen-von-verzeichnissen-waehrend-der-archivierung-ueber-migraven-24-7-sicherstellen/

Kategorie: Best Practices

Best Practice Berechtigungsgruppen Typ im AD

migRaven erzeugt auf Wunsch alle Gruppen für die Berechtigungen im Filesystem im Active Directory. Nachfolgend eine kurze Anleitung/Empfehlung für die richtige Auswahl. Diese drei Typen stehen zur Auswahl: – domänen lokale Gruppen,– universelle Gruppen und– globale Gruppen. Für die Wahl des richtigen Gruppentyps ist ausschlaggebend, ob Sie mit einer oder mit mehreren Domänen arbeiten und …

Weiterlesen

Permanentlink zu diesem Beitrag: https://help.migraven.com/best-practice-berechtigungsgruppen-typ-im-ad/

Active Directory aufräumen und standardisieren

Warum lohnt sich der Einsatz von migRaven.24/7 bzw. der Consulting Service Aufräumen historisch gewachsener AD Umgebungen Active Directory für die Einführung eines IAM vorbereiten preiswerte Alternative zur aufwendigen Domänenmigrationen Ausgliederung von Unternehmensteilen Zusammenführung von AD-Strukturen Übergabe der Verwaltung im Outsourcing Projekt migRaven.24/7 ist ein Tool, in das über 10 Jahre Know How aus vielen Projekten …

Weiterlesen

Permanentlink zu diesem Beitrag: https://help.migraven.com/active-directory-einfach-aufraeumen/

Best Practice NTFS Berechtigungen – AGDLP Mythos

Das „Best Practice“ gibt es nicht! Thomas Gomell Die Verwaltung von Berechtigungen (ACL/ACE) in der Windows Fileserver Welt sind komplex. Es ist vor allem deswegen so kompliziert, weil es keine gemeinsame Datenbasis gibt. Der Fileserver und die zu berechtigten Accounts kommen zwar aus der selben Welt, es gibt aber in Windows kein zentrales Directory (wie …

Weiterlesen

Permanentlink zu diesem Beitrag: https://help.migraven.com/mythos-agdlp-in-der-windows-acl-berechtigungsverwaltung/

Warum: Verzeichnisstrukturen auf Filerservern optimieren

Wie kann man gewachsene Verzeichnisstrukturen auf Fileservern mit wenig Aufwand für den Nutzer attraktiv aufbereiten?

Weiterlesen

Permanentlink zu diesem Beitrag: https://help.migraven.com/optimale-verzeichnisstrukturen-auf-dem-fileserver/

Best Practice für die Berechtigungsvergabe auf Fileservern

Wie sollte man die Berechtigungen auf Microsoft Filesystemen managen? Eine immer wieder aufkommende Frage. Eigentlich simpel aber doch hoch umstritten. Wir klären auf.

Weiterlesen

Permanentlink zu diesem Beitrag: https://help.migraven.com/best-practice-fuer-die-berechtigungsvergabe-auf-fileservern/

Überlange Pfadnamen unter Windows 10 / Windows Server

Mit Windows 10 besteht seit dem Anniversary-Update (Version 1607) die theoretische Möglichkeit das Limit für die standartmässige 260 Zeichen-Begrenzung aufzuheben. In der Registry findet sich unter HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\FileSystem ein DWORD (32-bit) mit dem Namen LongPathsEnabled. Unter einer Standart-Installation ist dieser mit dem Wert 0 hinterlegt. Ändern Sie diesen auf 1 um die Option zu aktivieren.

Weiterlesen

Permanentlink zu diesem Beitrag: https://help.migraven.com/ueberlange-pfadnamen-unter-windows-10-windows-server-2016/

NTFS Listberechtigungen optimal aufbauen

1. Notwendigkeit für Listberechtigungen In der Regel werden Zugriffsrechte auf NTFS-Fileservern nicht tiefer als bis zur 1. Verzeichnisebene vergeben. Sobald dies aber der Fall ist, muss man dafür sorgen dass der User auch durch das Filesystem zum entsprechenden Verzeichnis browsen kann. Hier gibt es verschiedene Möglichkeiten mit unterschiedlichen Auswirkungen. 2. Varianten der Vergabe von Listrechten

Weiterlesen

Permanentlink zu diesem Beitrag: https://help.migraven.com/listberechtigungen-windows-fileserver-einrichten-abe/

Modify Plus – die clevere Variante der Modify Rechte im NTFS

oder: Wie verhindert man die Löschung von Verzeichnissen mit expliziten Berechtigungen? Das NTFS Recht „Modify Plus“ sorgt für Stabilität im Verzeichnisbaum Das ModifyPlus-Recht verhindert das versehentliche Verschieben, Umbenennen oder Löschen des Berechtigungsendpunktes durch den Nutzer. Das neue ModifyPlus gilt als Alternative zum NTFS Standardrecht Modify. Das NTFS Stardardrecht „Modify“ enthält unter den erweiterten Rechten das …

Weiterlesen

Permanentlink zu diesem Beitrag: https://help.migraven.com/modifyplus/