Implementing Folder Self-Service

This function has arisen from the grievances surrounding the current exchange folders in most companies. Users are working in less rigid environments than before. Collaboration is the new magic word. This is where the IT departments reach their limits though. That's why there are places in the file system where the complete security is disabled. Within there, each user can freely create directories and store "secret" data without any access protection and manage access of those.

In our projects we could see what dangers arise from such circumstances.
The most extreme occurence we witnessed in a hospital: The list of all patients tested positively for HIV, freely accessible to all 4000 employees. We could give you more examples, but we'd rather invest times into preventing this.

With migRaven.24/7's feature Folder Self-Service user can easily create new folders with clearly defined permissions. These folders can be created based on folder templates administered by the migRaven administrator. The user has to manage all the folder they create, thus granting a new feeling of responsibility within the userbase itself.

In the following PDF document you will find the extensive documentation for the usability and functions of migRaven.XNUMX/XNUMX for administrators and end-users:

Folder Self-Service User Guide-PDF

Folder templates maximise the flexibility of the system

Templates include a combination of the following properties:

  • Storage location
  • Type of authorization assignment
  • Retention period/automatic deletion
  • Group for which the template is unlocked
  • Predefined directory structure

Examples of usage

  1. Exchange folder with automatic deletion of the directory, the possibility to extend its runtime, to create the directories on a certain share. For example: automatic deletion of said folder after 7 days and DOs can extend its runtime twice for 2 days.
  2. Process directory with recertification of its directories and permissions after one year, are generated in a special process folder on share X at location Y. Authorizations are generated individually.
  3. Project folder with a fixed directory structure and different permissions on its subdirectories. Authorizations are set directly via Group Roles so that the token size or token count is not affected.

The different forms of authorisation assignment

migRaven.XNUMX/XNUMX can set permissions differently depending on the situation. This is not always done according to rigid "Best Practice" customs and thus deviates from it. Rights set for exchange folders are assigned directly to the accounts, because they only have a short span of existence and therefore no authorisation groups are required.

The traceability and the reporting capability is ensured by migRaven.XNUMX/XNUMX.All authorisations are located in the DB and can therefore be understood and reprocessed. Even if directories have not existed for a long time.

Permanent link to this post: https://help.migraven.com/einfuehrungsstrategie-fuer-funktion-verzeichniserstellung/

Powered by ZigaForm version 3.9.9.8.9

Einführungsstrategie für Funktion „Verzeichniserstellung“

Diese Funktion ist aus den Missständen rund um die aktuell in den meisten Unternehmen existierenden Austauschordner entstanden. Benutzer arbeiten längst nicht mehr in so starren Umgebungen. Kollaboration ist das neue Zauberwort. Genau hier stoßen die IT-Abteilungen an ihre Grenzen. Weshalb es Orte im Dateisystem gibt an der die komplette Sicherheit ausgehebelt ist. Dort kann jeder Benutzer frei Verzeichnisse erzeugen und „geheime“ Daten ablegen, ohne dass es einen Zugriffsschutz gibt.

In unseren Projekten konnten wir sehen, welche Gefahren aus solchen Umständen heraus entstehen.
Das extremste Beispiel war die Liste aller auf HIV positiv getesteten Patienten in einem Krankenhaus für alle 4000 MA im direkten Zugriff. Wir könnten noch viele Beispiele aufführen. Aber das hat nun ein Ende!

Mit migRaven.24/7 Folder Self-Service Feature zur Erstellung von Verzeichnissen mit klar definierten Berechtigungen, erzeugt ein User auf der Basis von Templates die Ordner die er benötigt und kann/muss selbständig die Berechtigungen verwalten. Das geht schnell und fördert die Selbstverantwortung.

In diesem PDF-Dokument finden Sie die umfangreiche Dokumentation für den Einsatz der Funktion durch Admins und Enbenutzer:

Folder Selfe-Service User Guide – PDF

Vorlagen machen das System maximal flexibel

Vorlagen beinhalten die Kombination aus:

  • Ablageort
  • Art der Berechtigungsvergabe
  • Aufbewahrungsdauer /automatischer Löschung
  • Gruppe, für die das Template freigeschaltet ist
  • vordefinierter Verzeichnisstruktur

Beispiele für den Einsatz

  1. Austauschordner mit automatischer Löschung des Verzeichnisses, der Möglichkeit die Laufzeit zu verlängern, die Verzeichnisse auf einen bestimmten Share zu erzeugen. z.B. automatischer Löschung des Ordners nach 7 Tagen und der/die Owner kann/können die Laufzeit zwei mal um je 2 Tage verlängern.
  2. Prozessverzeichnis mit Rezertifizierung des Verzeichnisse und der Berechtigungen nach einem Jahr, werden in einem Speziellen Prozess Ordner auf dem Share x am Standort y erzeugt. Berechtigungen werden individuell erzeugt.
  3. Projektordner mit einer festen Verzeichnisstruktur und abweichenden Berechtigungen auf den Unterverzeichnissen. Berechtigungen werden direkt über Rollengruppen gesetzt, damit nicht die Tokensize bzw. der Tokencount strapaziert wird.

Die unterschiedlichen Formen der Berechtigungsvergabe

migRaven kann nach unterschiedlichen Varianten Berechtigungen setzen. Dies erfolgt je nach Sinnhaftigkeit und weicht von starren „Best-Practice“ Formen ab. Rechte auf Austauschordner werden z.B. an die Accounts direkt vergeben, weil diese eh nur einen kurzen Bestand haben und deswegen keine Berechtigungsgruppen benötigt werden.

Die Nachvollziehbarkeit bzw. die Reportingfähigkeit wird durch migRaven sichergestellt. Alle Berechtigungen befinden sich in der DB und können deswegen auch nachvollzogen bzw. reportet werden. Auch wenn Verzeichnisse schon lange nicht mehr exisitieren.

Permanentlink zu diesem Beitrag: https://help.migraven.com/einfuehrungsstrategie-fuer-funktion-verzeichniserstellung/